PWW(NZ) links with Asia Pacific Women’s Watch [APWW] a regional network of women’s groups which has five sub-regions (Central Asia, East Asia, South Asia, South-East Asia and the Pacific).

APWW was established after the UN 4th World Conference on Women, held in Beijing 1995. It collaborates with United Nations agencies, national governments and non-government organisations (NGOs) in empowering women and advancing their human rights.

PWW(NZ) joins APWW and other watch group members at global meetings, such as the annual UN Commission on Status of Women (CSW), New York.

PWW(NZ) acknowledges its responsibilities and obligations under the Treaty of Waitangi, 1840.

PWW(NZ) aims to:

  • Monitor the implementation of the Beijing Platform for Action and the UN General Assembly outcomes document and other programmes for action in New Zealand
  • Enhance women’s leadership and promote gender equality in all decision-making processes
  • Monitor, review and report on the elimination of all forms of discrimination and violence against women and girls
  • Pursue and uphold gender justice
  • Encourage sustainable rights-based economic development
  • Share information on good practice and lessons learned in advancing the status of women through effective communication

Rate us and Write a Review

Your Rating for this listing


Your review is recommended to be at least 140 characters long